Peter's Favorite Books & Magazines
Home Blog Late Night TV Index American Idol Predictions Music Computers

This Page Was Last Updated On
11/01/10

Subscribe for the latest updates
feed-icon32x32

 

I don't have much time in my week so I pick my reading material very carefully. Here, I'll list the only magazines and books worth my time. I think you'll like them too!

Guitarists, learn how to read music already!

Updated 07/31/05

 The joke goes, "How do you get a guitarist to turn down? Put some sheet music in front of him.". So true. Just because Eddie Van Halen and Allan Holdsworth can't read music doesn't mean that you don't need to. Chances are you're not as talented as they are. Finally there's a book for us guitarists who didn't have a formal music education. Read more...

The Sandman Companion - Peter's Favorite New Book

08/21/03

 I'm a huge Sandman fan. What is the Sandman? It's a graphic novel (comic book) that is fantasy based but with references to mythology, religion and pop culture. It's about a family of characters that are what they represent: Death, Dream, Destiny, Delirium, Destruction Despair and Desire. There's really no way I can describe this series in a way that will do it justice, so until I write a full review, please check it out in your local comic or book store. It's popular enough that you'll find it at most bookstores if you don't want to go to a comic store. I'm now reading The Sandman Companion. It's a comprehensive compendium of the whole series. It gives a synopsis of every story in the whole Sandman series and then an interview with the author Neil Gaiman, who describes the behind the scenes inspiration and research for every story. This is a must have for any fan. Sometimes it demystifies some of the stories but it also gives a lot of background information that you may have missed. Please take my word that this is not a children's comic. It is for literate adults and contains some pretty intense storylines. I can't give it a high enough rating so let's just give it a five out of five perfect rating.

 

The Smoking Gun

Are You A Fan Of Celebrity Crimes & Scandals?

05/03/02

 In an age where Robert Blake is on every news station, where OJ Simpson is no longer known for his sports prowess, where scandals rule the airwaves, The Smoking Gun: A Dossier of Secret, Surprising, and Salacious Documents is the perfect book. It's full of documents about celebrity court cases and more! Inside, there are documents about how Martha Stewart threatened and berated her neighbor's landscapers ("f***ing illegal aliens"), the confidentiality agreement that Tom Cruise and Nicole Kidman required their household staff to sign, Burt Reynolds's debts to toupee companies as revealed in his bankruptcy papers and much more that will delight those of us who secretly envy celebs and want to feel better about ourselves. Shadenfreude at it's best. Keep in mind that this isn't just tabloid rumors but actual court and police documents that prove that these things are real! Click here to order the book. Click here to visit The Smoking Gun official web site and a few samples of what's in the book.

Join the PetersReviews.com Message Board Today!

03/26/02

 Have a question or comment? Want to know who that musical group on last night's Letterman was? Just want to get something off your chest? Well, the PetersReviews.com Message board is now open! Join it and share your opinions with the rest of the readers of this site. Let's make it a nice little community where we can rant about stuff and just have fun. Join now!

McGruder & his characters

McGruder Wins NAACP Award

03/01/02

 Considering the current Boondocks cartoons, I was surprised to see my favorite cartoonist, Aaron McGruder accepting the prestigious Chairman's Award at the 33rd NAACP awards. Click here to read more about McGruder and the greatest current cartoon running.

Subscribe Now!

The Best Gift For The Men In Your Life

12/10/01

 Men's Health is one of my favorite magazines. If you know a man or are a man, you need to read it. It gives valuable information on health, sex, money, and everything that men need to survive in this world. For the dieter, there are sucess stories to motivate you, for the fitness freak, there are workout routines, for those in relationships, there are great articles on women, relationships and sex.
 If you're a woman who wants to give a gift to your boyfriend or husband, this is it. This is one of the few magazines that doesn't have a ton of half-naked women in it. The advice in it can only make your man healthier, a better dresser and dare I say, better at romance and sex?
 This is also an appropriate gift for your dad, brother, out of shape co-workers. It's not a creepy gift like Playboy, it's a classy gift that shows you care. Seriously. I've given many subscriptions. If nothing else, buy it for yourself!

Click Here To Subscribe To Men's Health

The Book With An Attitude

The Life of a Rock Star, Uncensored and Incredibly Entertaining

12/12/01

 You may not know who Jizzy Pearl is (he has sung for Love/Hate, Ratt and many other bands) but you will after you read this book.  It is an unflinchingly honest look at his life, the life of a rock singer .  Jizzy peels open his head to share with you his memories (good and bad) of his life experiences.  It flows at times like stream of consciousness giving you total insight into how he thinks.
  If you are or were a musician or just a fan, you must read this book!  It would also make a great gift for anyone who has ever fantasized about being a musician.
 Full review coming soon!
  Visit Jizzy's web site for ordering info, sample chapters from the book and just more information on this talented singer.

The Complete Directory to Prime Time Network and Cable TV Shows (Complete Directory to Prime Time Network and Cable TV Shows, Ed 7)

Whenever anyone asks me about an old show this is the only reference I need (I have edition 6).  It has a cast list and full information on just about every show made!  This is a must for anyone who is into trivia!

Click Here To Buy The Book

Lessons On "What Not To Do" In Web Design

03/31/01

 The site www.websitesthatsuck.com has been around for a long, long time. They teach good web design by showing examples of poor web design. It's a funny and informative site. I agree with 95 % of what they say. Unfortunately, since they released a book, their site has changed to try to sell the book. Now I feel there's a little bit of "physician, heal thyself" in their site. But they do need to pay for the site so any changes to make money, I fully understand. Anyone who has a web site, whether personal or business must visit this site! And while you're at it, buy the book.

Click here to visit the site : www.websitesthatsuck.com

Click here to buy the book!

[Home] [TV Index] [Late Night] [Music] [Computers] [About] [Links] [Forum]
Google
 
Web www.petersreviews.com